Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law
Effective February 23, 2020
Posted on 2/12/2020
Did you know that on February 23, 2020 the Massachusetts new Hands-Free Driving Law goes into effect? This applies to both cell phones and hand held GPS systems.
If you are pulled over for violating this law:
- 1st offense – $100 fine.
- 2nd offense – $250 fine, plus mandatory completion of a distracted driving educational program.
- 3rd and subsequent offenses – $500 fine, plus insurance surcharge and mandatory completion of distracted driving educational program.
Phones and GPS Systems must be mounted to the windshield, dashboard, or center console in a manner that does not impede driving. You are only allowed to touch the device to activate hands-free mode.
If you are a driver under the age of 18 it is illegal to operate any electronic device at all, even in hands-free mode.
Calling 911 is allowed, but you are encouraged to pull over to a safe place before doing so, if possible.
For more information, please visit Mass.Gov/Handsfree.